The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 22, 2006, 09:25 PM   #1
carl418

Lee Speed Die: is it any good?

I'm new to reloading, and am buying equipment piece by piece. It's now time for dies. I'm only going to reload .357 mag and .44 mag for revolvers. I've seen lots of people writing about Lee Carbide dies being great, but I've never seen anything about the Lee Speed Die. Does it work? Is it worth getting? I have a single stage press. Thanks for the help.

S&WCA | SAF | GOA Life | NRA Benefactor
Old August 22, 2006, 10:46 PM   #2
amamnn

Lee has come up with some great ideas over the years. I don't know if this is one of them. I can't comment on the speed die because I have not used it. I have used their carbide dies, though. They work as advertised on handgun loads. I noticed that Lee lists a speed die for the .357 mag, but not for the .44 mag.

http://www.10ring.com/Categories/rel...olDieChart.htm
Old August 22, 2006, 11:41 PM   #3
Rimrod

I have a .45ACP speed die. You'd be better off getting the regular carbide dies.
Old August 23, 2006, 06:19 PM   #4
carl418

Thanks for the replies! I think I'll stick with the 3 piece carbide set, even though the speed die would probably be faster. I would rather have 'better' than 'faster' anytime!

S&WCA | SAF | GOA Life | NRA Benefactor
Old August 23, 2006, 06:32 PM   #5
Ausserordeutlich

I have actually loaded ammo using the Speed Dies, so I feel o.k. with making a recommendation. You won't get "better" ammo with the three-die set; don't know where anybody'd get that idea.

The Speed Die also uses a carbide sizing ring; it's just that the sizing ring is removable. The Speed Die works as advertised. It's a lot easier to use on a single-stage press than having to install three die bodies to do the same thing that one Speed Die will do.
Old August 23, 2006, 09:24 PM   #6
BigJakeJ1s