The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 24, 2008, 10:51 PM   #1
Altered Ego

Specific type of lead needed to cast???

What a great site you have here. Just stumbled upon it while searching for re-loading recommendations. (I'm just getting started with this). I have a question with regards to casting lead bullets. As a plumber, I have lots of lead laying around and was wondering if this type is acceptable to use? I would only consider using "new" lead. I am wondering how this compares to the used wheel weights that a lot of folks seem to use. Thanks for any information you can provide.
Old December 24, 2008, 10:58 PM   #2
CrustyFN

You can use pure lead but you will probably need to add linotype or monotype to the lead to make it hard enough. I have been using used wheel weights and they work great without having to add anything. Welcome.
Rusty
Old December 24, 2008, 11:04 PM   #3
Altered Ego

Thanks for the quick reply, Rusty. I obviously have an abundance of 95/5 solder and presume I can add a pound or two to the lead and will obtain the same results?
Old December 24, 2008, 11:13 PM   #4
Unclenick
Staff

You can cast for handguns with lead and tin alone. Elmer Keith developed the .44 Magunum using 20:1 and 16:1 lead and tin alloy. He may even have used 30:1. I've forgotten. The alloy RCBS recommended for its molds in years past is 9:1 lead tin. Very shiny, but a bit expensive anymore. The tin can come from any lead-free solder, since that is mostly tin. Just be sure there is no zinc in it. Zinc increases surface tension in lead alloys and makes it difficult for them to fill out a mold. But tin, copper, silver; all good.