The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 4, 2007, 11:39 AM   #1
JRD

Reloading on a progressive?

Well, I have done a lot of reloading on a single stage, mostly for bottleneck rifle, and some straighwall. I'm new to the progressive world. Can someone list all the steps they take while using their progressive. Starting with the cleaning, all the way thru to the finished rounds. I thought I had things in order, but now it seems I may be wrong? I have a RCBS 2000 but think I might sell it and get a Dillon 550 or 650.
Old March 4, 2007, 01:04 PM   #2
DaveInGA

JRD<

First, if you've got an RCBS Pro 2000, you have a good progressive that's about the same as the Dillon 550 (which is also manual advance), except it has a better powder measure than the Dillon for reloading rifle on that's much easier to adjust and needs no mods to handle extruded powders.

You could add the non plastic strip primer feeder if that's what you don't like about the press, but it's a pretty good press. If you don't like the 4 stations or the manual advance, you should be looking at the 650 or Hornady LnL AP.

Here's the information on reloading progressively.

.45 ACP Pistol, just back from the range, no casefeeder:

1. Tumble in 1/8" ground corncob media sweetened with Nu Finish car polish to clean it as well as slicken it up a bit so it'll go through the press nicely. NO TRIMMING FOR ANY STRAIGHT WALLED CASES.

2. Set up press for .45ACP. Load powder and Primers into press. Adjust dies, etc., as necessary. Once toolhead/turret is loaded with dies, this step shouldn't be necessary again. You may want to buy extra case activated powder drop dies for each toolhead/turret for convenience though. Easy to swap powder off of those. If you don't have case expansion with the RBS CAPD, measure the internal diameter and call Hornady, I bet their case mouth expander inserts will work in your CAPD powder die.