The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old June 25, 2008, 04:53 PM   #1
HKFan9

Help a Newbie - Cap n Ball

I own a lot more hunting rifles and shotguns than I do pistols in general, and out of that the only Revolver I own is a SW m60 snub nose. I also loved the way the old Colts looked but being a college student I can't afford one. I stumbled onto this on Buds and was interested in how they were.

http://www.budsgunshop.com/catalog/p...ducts_id/39417

The price seems really cheap, and I do want a shooter I can have some fun at the range with, not a safe queen. I was also wondering since I never really used a black powder gun before (I have fired one) what components and everything I would need for this pistol. I.E. some cheap target bullets, I'm assuming ignition caps, powder ect.. Any information on how exactly these work would be great really. This seems like a gun that would be fun to take to the range when I'm bored with all the semi-autos, so if any of you own one, please share any info.
Old June 25, 2008, 07:53 PM   #2
Ozzieman

I have never shot one but I have handled one. There good guns. Any of the Italian built cap and ball revolvers are good shooters.
Personally I prefer the newer version with round barrel and more graceful lines and fluted cylinders like the 1860 army or 61 navy.
My only suggestion is that at $200 it seems a little pricy. Go to a gun show near where you live. There are always good (and better) prices and you can find one you might like better.
Just remember read the instructions for loading. Multiple chambers firing are a possibility if you don’t grease the chambers and that’s one thing you don’t want to experience.
I would also suggest you ask the same question in the black powder section of this forum, you might get more answers.