The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 12, 2010, 01:38 PM   #1
VasiliyZaitsev

Primers, how important are they? Match, Magnum or Regular?

Just a beginner here, lots to learn. I have completed a few dozen rounds for my 308, happy with performance so far. Just wondering if primers are something to be considered for reloading, some guys just use regular lr federal and happy as clams others say use magnum primers or match primers. Just how critical are they and how much improvement can you expect from upgrading your primers. Or is it just an excuse for not hitting the target
Old November 12, 2010, 02:00 PM   #2
hogcowboy

I stick to the recipes published. I was told once that if you are get a lot of unburned powder you can use a magnum primer if one wasn't called for. I done that on some recipes with success. But I basically stick to the recipes.

American Legion Rider
Old November 12, 2010, 02:06 PM   #3
wncchester

Repeat after me:

Match is for match rifles.

Magnum is for magnum rifles.

Standard is for everything else.

Old November 12, 2010, 09:08 PM   #4
Tim R

wncchester, I don' t agree with your post 100%. I have found using match primers can at times make groups smaller. Also different manf's of primers can also affect groups sizes. It's worth not only working up with different powder charges, it's worth working up with different primers.

I'm using mag match primers for a 30-30 I use for lever gun matches. Mainly because I'm using ball powder which requires the use of a mag primer.
Old November 12, 2010, 09:23 PM   #5
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus