The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old November 1, 2007, 11:40 AM   #1
SkySlash

First time deer hunting! - Need advice from the regulars.

I am no novice to firearms, but for some reason I never made the leap from target shooting to real hunting until now. I've been bird hunting plenty of times, but I've never in my life hunted anything with four legs and warm blood. I recently managed to get hooked up with a buddy on a phenomenal lease near Rowena, TX, and this weekend will be my first experience at deer hunting.

I grew up as an experienced boyscout and so I'm no stranger to the outdoors, but I have no idea what kind of special things I might need to bring to assist me. Things like a knife, cleaning supplies, coolers, etc.? I'm a complete noob and I could really use help with this.

The general layout includes 8 stands and plenty of room for everyone, and deer camp has basic water and electricity available. I'll probably tent camp and eat easy to prepare dry meals so that angle is covered.

The feeders have been stocked for several weeks, and numerous deer have already been spotted all over the property.

What I need most help with is what to outfit myself with. I'll be out with some grizzled veterans who also hunt the lease, but I don't want to lean heavy on them and take any pleasure out of their weekend. I'd ask them, but I don't really know them yet, I just happen to now share a lease with them. Since I'm new to the group, I know it's important to make a good impression in terms of how I handle myself, firearms safety, preparedness, etc.