The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old August 8, 2012, 11:01 AM   #1
Slugo

the question of gun fit...

I read so much about, "make sure the gun fits you properly" before you buy. What does that really mean? Don't get me wrong, a very bazaar sized and shaped gun is not what I'm talking about. My question is regarding the run of the mill average sized shotgun. I've been shooting steady for over 30 years and have owned more guns that I can even remember, and only a handful can I remember were uncomfortable to shoot well due to size, weight or whatever.

Do allot of you have a problem if the LOP is not the same on each gun, or the cast and dimensions may be different. I'm interested in your opinions on the subject...
Old August 8, 2012, 12:19 PM   #2
zippy13

Slugo, my friend, something that's often overlooked when talking about gun fit is a proper gun mount. A lot of guys (myself included) will shoot several guns with similar stocks. Some will use some pretty weird mounts to make a gun "fit" properly. The sad thing is, a few shooters will use a poorly fit gun for years and consequently develop bad mounting habits.

Don't get too carried away with exact length of pull, a change of clothes will change your effective LOP. Go to someone who knows about stock fitting (I'm lucky, Shockmaster is just a few blocks from me) and have them evaluate your mount with a gun that you thinks fits you properly. Hopefully they won't have any surprises for you.
Old August 8, 2012, 12:59 PM   #3
TheKlawMan

Could it be that you are the average size shooter that guns are designed to fit? It sounds as though you shoot pretty well, but what do you consider to be a good fit. One guy is tickeled with a gun that hits it hits within 2" of his POA, while his identical twin refuses to shoot the identical gun becasue it doesn't fit.
Old August 8, 2012, 01:19 PM   #4
BigJimP