The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old November 15, 2010, 07:25 AM   #1
Morgoroth

What do you do in the stand?

I am pretty new to hunting in general this is my first year really deer hunting.

I still have not gotten anything yet though one of the guys I hunt with did.
We know the land has deer because we have seen them in the off season and we have jumped a number of them when walking the property.

I have been probably a half-dozen times now, and I just can't get one in the scope.

I am starting to wonder if I am doing it wrong. I know you have to be as quiet and still as possible, but how do you keep from moving at least a little for hours at a time?

We are hunting in wooded areas so the deer are not far away or anything.
Old November 15, 2010, 08:42 AM   #2
Scout

When I was younger and could see better, I would read. Every few minutes, I would look around and then go back to reading for a few minutes. In those days I would sit for 8 hour at a time. Now, I can't stay in the stand for more than 5 or 6 hours. I don't really think that you have to be so totally still in the stand. I have killed a pile of deer out of climbers and ladder stands while reading or smoking my pipe. I just try to be quiet and keep my movements slow.
Old November 15, 2010, 09:26 AM   #3
Morgoroth

Scout-

How far up and away are you in those stands?

One of my places is on the ground and pretty close quarters.
Also did you have any type of blind?
Old November 15, 2010, 09:46 AM   #4
howlnmad

If I'm in a ground blind, I'll read also or do a crossword puzzle book but no smoking. If I'm in an elevated shooting house or a climbing stand or ladder stand, i'll do those I mentioned before but I will smoke. Regardless of what some may say, I've laid many deer (and one russian boar) to rest with a smoke sticking out the left corner of my mouth. When I'm in a tree, I'll usually be 20 ft or so up.
Old November 15, 2010, 01:28 PM   #5
Buzzcook