The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 21, 2013, 08:47 PM   #1
bowtieboy85

243 winchester not grouping

Hello I am kinda new to reloading and have had good luck so far. But today I tried to make up a round for deer out of my girlfriends 243 . It is a Ruger m77 frontier with a 16.5 inch barrel and 1:9 twist. I was using h4350 and 100gr hornady btsp. The best I could do was maybe 2 inch group at 100yards. Was wondering if the bullet was to heavy for the barrel length or maybe the powder was to slow as I use it for my 06 also?
Old January 21, 2013, 09:26 PM   #2
flyguy958

I've had better luck with IMR 4064.
Old January 21, 2013, 09:27 PM   #3
LE-28

The rifling twist of your barrel sound right, that's what most 243s barrels are.
How mush freebore are you giving your bullets? That gun should do better than a 2"group at 100yds.

The 4350 should be ok also, I load my 243s at 40gr of IMR4350 with 100gr Hornady bullets and they were tack drivers, litterally. These were both 20"barrels but the fact that your barrel is shorter should have no bearing on the accuracy, just a little on the velocity side.

It's always been my understanding that the powder is all burnt in the first 2-3"of the barrel and the extra length just gives the pressure a longer period of time to interact with on the bullet to gain velocity.

Try to get the bullet out to about .005" from the lands of the riflings.
Old January 21, 2013, 09:27 PM   #4
Savage99

Welcome to the forum.

It's usually the rifle, it's scope or the shooting technique and less that the handloads or factory loads are the problem.

Make sure that the scope mounts and bases are tight and that the front quard screw is tight.

After that try a shim made from electrical tape under the action or barrel.

H4350 is excellent for heavier bullets in the 243.