The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 30, 2006, 05:06 AM   #1
matthewelrod

Need tips for accurate loading of 357 Sig

Hello, I am new to reloading and am having trouble with loading for accuracy. I am trying to load lighter loads for IDPA competetion. Currently I am using speer 125 gr TMJ bullets(all I could find localy), my cases are trimmed to within .001" and are all from the same lot. I have been using Hodgdon Longshot and alliant Unique powders. I also have some Titegroup but I cant find any loading data for it and the 357 sig.
I am using a RCBS die set and am not pleased with the crimps I am able to get. I am crimping until right before the case starts to bulge and am still getting the bullet pushed back several thousanths of an inch when the round is chambered. Is this part of my accuracy problem?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt
Old January 30, 2006, 09:41 AM   #2
renaissance7697

You must carefully choose the correct bullet for .357 SIG

It may be the profile of your bullet.

.357 SIG has a very "short" neck.
The bullet you use must be of such a profile that it presents
maximum bearing surface to interact with the indifr of the Case neck.

Gererally a flat nosed bullet is likely to have more bearing surface
(that portion of the bullet length that measures full diameter)
Old January 30, 2006, 09:43 AM   #3
renaissance7697

correction

That should have been "inside"
Not "indifr"
Old January 30, 2006, 09:43 AM   #4
Dave P

still getting the bullet pushed back several thousanths of an inch

You need to fix this serious problem before setback increases pressure to more than your chamber can handle! Be sure you have good bullets and loads.
Old January 30, 2006, 10:29 AM   #5
caz223

Use flat nose or hollow point bullets.
Use a powder that prevents setback, like blue dot or AA9.
If you're on single stage I don't know what to tell you.