The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 1, 2009, 08:32 PM   #1
Old Wanderer

No more cast bullets???

I went to sign up for a handgun class here in Washington. I was a little chagrined when I was told, only jacketed bullets allowed.

I have been shooting lead bullets in my 45 for almost 50 years....now all of a sudden I am told it is a health risk to the instructor and other shooters...

Is this just a local problem, or is it becoming the norm.??

(Inquiring minds just want to know )
Old April 1, 2009, 08:45 PM   #2
Sevens

Indoor range? Most indoor ranges these days don't allow lead and/or non-jacketed bullets. Airborne lead particles are much tougher on the air filtration system that they are now required to use, and these systems are expensive to install and maintain.

20 years ago when I was shooting on indoor ranges, it was the opposite. No jacketed bullets because the backstop couldn't handle them. Only lead bullets allowed. And we didn't even have a fan, let alone an entire filtration system.

As for what is dangerous... the lead particles are one issue, but the lead styphnate in the primers is also a problem. Is this a big problem? I don't know. Probably not, but I'm not in the medical field.
Old April 1, 2009, 08:46 PM   #3
cumminsX

Wow. This kind of garbage is becoming more and more prevalent.
Old April 1, 2009, 09:02 PM   #4
kraigwy

I believe Washington is the problem, not lead bullets.

We dont have that problem here.

Anyway I have my own range so I doubt that problem comes up.
Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old April 1, 2009, 09:32 PM   #5
Unclenick
Staff

. . . And if it does, you can petition yourself to negotiate for a change in the rules. Probably a good excuse to get a good bottle of scotch to have the argument over. Invite a few friends to join in and bring the cigars. This is looking better and better for you.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle