The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old May 11, 2008, 10:05 PM   #1
overkill2002

homemade pump shotgun

First off let me say that I am a machinist and I know how to use a mill and lathe; access isn't going to be a problem either. I just finished reading Bill Holmes' book on firearms prototypes and design. The book is mostly just basic principles and procedures, but he does throw us a bone and give us some okay prints for a pump action shotgun that uses detachable box mags. The drawbacks are that you have to make the mags yourself, the action bar looks weak ( IMO ) and the whole thing just doesn't look right.

Has anyone actually built one of these?

The semi auto version of this actually looked okay and seems to be a reliable design. Mostly I just prefer pumps and and I don't find his design aesthetically pleasing.

I think that the design of the action can be tweaked to take Saiga mags without too much trouble. For that matter I could base it off of the Saiga action. The slide would still be on the barrel rather than under it but with a much heavier action bar where the piston would be on an AK..... It would probably clean the lines up.

Yeah I know that I could just go out and buy a saiga, but like I said I prefer pumps and I want to mostly make this myself.

any input will be useful.
Old May 11, 2008, 10:17 PM   #2
teeroux

Are you planning to build a shotgun pure from scratch or are you useing a pre existing action?
Old May 11, 2008, 10:18 PM   #3
.351winchester

There was a pump action .223 Galil based rifle, you may wanna look at that and see if it gives you any ideas.
Old May 11, 2008, 10:23 PM   #4
overkill2002

I would like to do it from scratch, but I'm not above scrounging existing parts to get it to work.

I'd heard somewhere about a pump action rifle based on the AK platform, but I haven't been able to find any info.
Old May 11, 2008, 10:27 PM   #5
teeroux