The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 2, 2015, 05:30 PM   #1
KBrun

Reloading order question

The recent thread on duds has gotten me thinking. To preface this I'll say I'm a novice reloader. And by novice I mean to days I've probably loaded about 75 rounds of. 308. So, on with the question.
It seems that many of you will fill each case of a batch with powder, then go back and seat a bullet. This seems to be when people forget the powder one way or another and seat a bullet on a second case. Whst is the reasoning behind charging say 50 cases, then going back to seat 50 bullets. I've been charging a case, seating the bullet, and going to the next one.
Any reason in particular, or is it just a batch method rather then a one off method. Thanks all
Old September 2, 2015, 05:40 PM   #2
603Country

I do them one case at a time. That's just my preference.
Old September 2, 2015, 05:44 PM   #3
PA-Joe

Processing in batches makes it go faster. Size and deprime 50 put in reloading block casehead up, Prime 50, powder 50 put in reloading block casehead down. Look into all 50 case to see if powder is all at the same level in each case. Then seat 50 bullets to desired COL. Then crime all 50.

This gives you a visual check as to whether there was a powder measure failure.

To get even powder drops you have to be very consistent with how you double tap the handle on the up and down strokes to settle and dislodge all of the powder. If you are doing singles you can't be consistent with the drops. Then again if you are using a trickler to bring each charge up to weight, it doesn't matter.
Old September 2, 2015, 05:45 PM   #4
Smoke & Recoil

Both ways work...and eventually, we forget the primer too, REALLY !
Old September 2, 2015, 08:38 PM   #5
Metal god