The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old October 10, 2007, 06:47 AM   #1
drhunta2

Camp stories

Last year after building and hunting out of a friends camp in the Adirondaks for a number of years, we were informed that due to circumstances out of our control we would no longer be able to hunt there. The loss hit me harder than I anticipated. We found land to hunt elsewhere, but what I really missed was the comraderie and the great stories and events that happened in and around camp.

So - thread question, what is your best hunting camp story? Can be humorous or serious.
Old October 10, 2007, 08:00 AM   #2
DesertDawg

As my sig denotes, I love the desert, and go out camping and shooting there as often as possible. I've been doing that for 35+ years. I've had as many as 10 shooting buddies, but that number has dwindled over the years.

Two separate camping incidents, both when I was in the desert with only one of my shooting buddies.

I'm more of a "rock & roll oldies" type, buy my friend loves his country/western music. Personally, I'd rather have nothing but peace and quiet when I'm in the desert, but my friend seems to "need" his C/W music.

The first time, while sitting around the campfire at about 9:00 p.m., I was starting to nod off...until my friend just had to have a jolt of his C/W music! He had a Garth Brooks CD playing, and had the volume almost all the way up! After a few minutes of that, I got up to fetch another cup of coffee....AND to turn the volume down. MUCH better!