The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old November 27, 2005, 05:15 PM   #1
dmon

My First Rack Buck...

I live and hunt in the Adirondacks of New York. I belong to a club which has access to 9k acres of land. I have been hunting for the past 4 years and constantly wonder why I hadn't started sooner. What I love most about where I live is we have one week of early muzzleloader from about Oct 15 - 21 (give or take a day here & there) and then Rifle season opens from Oct 22 until the first full weekend in December. Thats right... six weeks of being in the woods. While my wife hates it I love it and slowly she's getting used to it.

Anyway Friday (the day after Thanksgiving) I went down to go out, planning on doing some drives with my buddy and his brother and sister. His sister calls about 6:30 am and says the weather is too nasty and she'll wait an hour to see if it subsides (it was, I drove through it - nasty band of snow - I made through but going was real slow). My buddy is not too happy in this kink in his plans and tells me "Don't let us hold you up. Go out where you wanted to go." At this point I was planning on spending the most of the day doing drives across the club. I was dressed and ready to go out so feeling the end of the season coming and not wanting to waste anymore time I decided to go out. I told him I had my radio and to call me when they finally got into the woods. I told him where I was going and the only thing he told me was to focus on the spruces as most of the sign he was seeing was in and around spruce thickets.