The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > General Discussion Forum

Old November 16, 2011, 05:34 PM   #1
PADefenseTrainer

Looking for Closed Shooting Range in PA

I'm a NRA Certified Firearms Instructor in PA and I'm looking to buy my own gun range.

Does anyone know of a gun range that has gone out of business in Pennsylvania?
Old November 16, 2011, 06:38 PM   #2
Casimer

Indoors or outdoors?

In either case - not many. There was a commercial range near Quakertown that closed a few years ago, after years of problems. IIRC it was an outdoor range and they allowed select-fire weapons at some point. But I can't remember the name ( Twin Pines ?). You could contact Donley's in Quakertown, they'd probably know - http://www.gunrunner1000.com/

The PA Game Commission closed one of their ranges a few years ago in Nockamixon and have been trying to figure out what to do with it. But that was never a commercial range, and it's on state land, so I'm not sure if it would be possible to buy it from them.

As you're probably aware, PA has hundreds of small private ranges set up by various sportsmen's associations and whatnot. They don't tend to go out of business, or close, unless some outside force compels them to. The commercial ranges that I'm aware of are almost all indoors.

You might consider buying one that's still operating. I wouldn't be surprised if you can find a range owner who'd like to retire. Also try the NRA. One of their local reps would probably know what's available in the region.
Old November 16, 2011, 07:52 PM   #3
Aguila Blanca
Staff

A couple of years ago a friend was looking at buying an indoor range somewhere near Langhorne. The owners were looking to retire, and wanted to sell the business and the property. My friend decided against it -- I never heard if another buyer came along.
Old November 17, 2011, 06:33 AM   #4
Johannes_Paulsen