The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 18, 2008, 12:53 AM   #1
MDS

Challenger press

Anyone here use the Lee Challenger press? I'm thinking of dedicating one for .223
Old December 18, 2008, 01:28 AM   #2
SavageMOA

I have one set up for .223 actually. It's a fantastic setup. Very inexpensive and gets the job done. I don't really see what the $150+ single stage presses could offer over it that would be worth it.

Results you ask? I regularly shoot sub-MOA 5 shot groups out of my Savage 12FV.
Old December 18, 2008, 01:31 AM   #3
MDS

I'm new to a lot of reloading. Havn't done .223 yet. Can you swage ok, when you need to on that press?
Old December 18, 2008, 02:17 AM   #4
Unclenick
Staff

You can't swage bullets in normal loading presses of any brand I am aware of. I'm sure plenty of folks have done it with varying degrees of success, but to avoid breakage you need something very heavy to form the lead into bullets by pressure. Corbin makes the heavy presses required.

If you are willing to shell out $50 for a Challenger, consider spending an extra $25 and get the Lee Classic Cast press. It will do anything (except swaging) that a reloader truly needs to do. Only if you get into match shooting at longer ranges (600-1200 yards) where you need 1/2 moa ammo or better, will the ammo benefit from something like the Forster Co-ax press.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle

Last edited by Unclenick; December 18, 2008 at 05:22 PM. Reason: typo correction
Old December 18, 2008, 12:35 PM   #5
MDS

I'm talking about crimped primer cases. Not bullets.
Old December 18, 2008, 04:44 PM   #6
wncchester

If you mean, can you safely swage GI primer pockets with something like the RCBS or Dillon tools, yes.