The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old December 16, 2008, 07:42 PM   #1
Indian Outlaw

The Spiller & Burr Revolver

Hi. Newbie here.

I handled a used Spiller & Burr yesterday and liked it better than my Remington. It fit my hand well. Are the Pietta/Traditions S&Bs well made? Is there anything I should know before ordering one from Dixie?

Would love to see some pics of S&Bs!

Regards,
IO
Old December 16, 2008, 07:57 PM   #2
Cimarron Lawman

Been thinking about 'em also, and have the same questions.

http://www.csarmory.org/spiller/page2.html
Old December 16, 2008, 08:12 PM   #3
pohill

They're based on the Whitney revolvers. Mine is pretty old. Because they're brass, you should keep the loads fairly low (15 grs of black powder). Great guns.
Old December 16, 2008, 08:26 PM   #4
Hawg

Dunno bout the Spiller and Burr but Pietta's 60 Colt's and 58 Remingtons are top notch.
Old December 17, 2008, 08:25 AM   #5
Riot Earp

The originals have a higher hammer spur and a different grip. There is more room behind the triggerguard on the originals.

Some people say they're loud, for a .36 BP revolver.

http://vhs3.vahistorical.org/vhsimag...990.100.13.jpg

Last edited by Riot Earp; December 17, 2008 at 08:52 AM.
Old December 17, 2008, 09:23 AM   #6
Musketeer

I have an older Italian S&B clone which I got years ago second hand. The nipples are beat to snot and will not take a cap. Anybody know where to get them and what load to use. I have not shot the thing in 15 years.

"The way to see by faith is to shut the eye of reason." Benjamin Franklin
Old December 17, 2008, 11:06 AM   #7
sundance44s

My Pietta made Spiller & Burr is one of my favorite 36 cal .Revolvers .
Old December 17, 2008, 12:43 PM   #8
Fingers McGee

Quote: