The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 10, 2008, 05:23 PM   #1
chuckmatlock

How much $ do you save reloading?

Have been reading and it seems start up costs are a bit high. How many do you have to do til your even or saving money? I understand the ability to get much better quality and precision but how does it really stack up?
Old March 10, 2008, 05:32 PM   #2
mniesen89

chuck, well lets see,I've been reloading for about 6 months now and haven't saved a penny!In fact I've spent waaaaayyyyy more money then I would have if I would have just went to waly world! How much money you save really depends on a bunch of factors in the beginning. For instance a single stage press is not in the same category as a progressive, the different calibers you will be reloading and how advanced you want to go with your setup.

For me,I started out small and then caught "THE BUG"! A horrible disease at that!I'd buy one thing and realize I didnt like it or it just wasnt fast enough and go and buy something else.In the end it will save money I assume, I just havent seen the light at the end of that tunnel yet!

P.S. You know its got ya when you buy a gun just to reload that caliber!
Old March 10, 2008, 06:02 PM   #3
firechicken

The fact is, you'll never save any money by reloading. Your ammo will be much cheaper per round, but you'll shoot a lot more!! I'd guess I probably shoot about 10 X the number of rounds that I would if I didn't reload. I reload for every firearm I own except rimfire and 7.62X39. Many of my guns have never had a factory loaded round fired by me. Working up the loads, and finding something that works is probably half (if not more than half) of my shooting enjoyment. mniesen89 has it right - you WILL buy new guns just to reload for a different caliber!
Old March 10, 2008, 06:15 PM   #4
Rembrandt

As previously mentioned, the savings are sometimes eaten up by shooting more.