The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 2, 2008, 10:11 PM   #1
tcarroll

New To Reloading

I am fairly new to reloading just purchased some equipment a Hornday Lock N Load Kit and a few other items.I have been reading the ABC's of reloading and gathering some good information and some scary information.Has anyone ever experienced any bad mishaps while reloading and whats the chances of it happening,say like primers exploding,double charging shells,guns blowing up etc.I am going to be extremely cautious about my reloading would just like to know some do's and dont's from seasoned reloaders and some of the knowledge.I am going to start out with pistol loads 38 special,9mm,45acp at first.

Thank's
Old January 2, 2008, 10:44 PM   #2
rwilson452

For a starter I would pick a powder that you can't possibly double charge a case with. in other words a powder that with a standard load fills the case over half way. Doing this if you try to double charge a case your going to spill powder over the edge of the case. this is easily identifiable as an oops. I have never had a primer go off reloading. I would suggest you not use federal primers they are said to be the most sensitive. The best way to avoid having a mistake reloading is to be very detail oriented. double check everything when your first starting out. I would suggest you don't progressive load but load one case all the way through. Do this the first 100 or so until your sure your doing everything right. For a newbie loader, speed kills. you don't learn to drive at the Indy 500. Never ever have more than one pound of powder on your bench at a time. getting your powders mixed up is real bad ju-ju. It can be a safe enjoyable hobby but attention to detail is king queen and jack in the hole.