The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 2, 2006, 09:43 AM   #1
carl418

newbie question

I'm new to reloading, and am still accumulating the equipment, but I'm almost there. I bought the Lee 3-die carbide sets for .357 mag and .44 mag. I'm only going to reload for revolver use. My question is this: do I need the Lee factory crimp die? And, if I do, why do I need it? Thanks in advance for putting up with my newbie questions!

S&WCA | SAF | GOA Life | NRA Benefactor
Old September 2, 2006, 10:38 AM   #2
rwilson452

Lee FCD

Do you need the FCD? No, you don't need it. But you want it. It will make life a lot easier for you especially when your first starting out. Without it your seating and crimping in one step which makes setting up the seating die twice as difficult. with the FCD you do it in two steps with different dies. Twice maybe three times as simple. When using lead bullets with some bullets you wind up shaving lead when you do it in one step. I have the FCD for all pistol calibers I load. I also have one for 30-06 for my M1 Garand. Basicly your applying the K.I.S.S. principle.
Old September 2, 2006, 01:52 PM   #3
Robereno

I just started reloading a few weeks ago with small handgun loads in mind. I went with the Lee 3 set carbide die set as well. Was able to get the one step seating & crimping down after some trial & error but decided to order the Factory crimp die anyway. It just requires less "fiddling" and seems to simplify the process.

It was only $11 at midway & seemed like a good idea.
Old September 2, 2006, 03:37 PM   #4
ConRich

+1 on what swilson452 posted, I could never get a consistant crimp using the seating/crimping die. I tried the FCD and have never looked back. HTH

Rich
Old September 2, 2006, 09:17 PM   #5
BigJakeJ1s