The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old March 16, 2012, 01:37 PM   #1
9mm

SXS 12g under $220

Hi, I just got this urge to get an SXS, been wanting one for a long time. Last gun show I went to they had like 10 for $150~$220 and they were like springfield and some other good brands.

I just sold some stuff that I don't need any more so I have $200 ready to go and theres a gun show in like 13 days.

The SXS's are like made from the 60's-70's but in very good shape.

Is there anything I should look for or watch out for on them? the dealer last time showed me its got a tight lock up meaning it wasnt used much.
Old March 16, 2012, 01:43 PM   #2
Salmoneye

Generally speaking, lever right of center good, left of center not so good...

It can lock up tight, and still have the lever way too far left...
Old March 16, 2012, 04:29 PM   #3
9mm

What do you mean? I am new to SXS's
Old March 16, 2012, 04:30 PM   #4
PetahW

"Springfield" = Savage/Stevens, a great buy at only $200.

There's not many others from that era, in that price range today, that should even be shot, never mind worth as much as $200 - whatever toney "brand name" there might be on one.

The other "good" brands/"ones", would be:

A.H.Fox (good luck, on the $200)
Ithaca
Iver Johnson
L.C.Smith
Lefever Nitro Special (Ithaca)
Noble
Parker Brothers ($200, yeah, right)
Remington Arms
Sterlingworth (A.H.Fox)
Western Arms Long Range Double (Ithaca)

Others "MAY" look attractive/good - but they'll shoot yer eye out. .

Old March 16, 2012, 04:35 PM   #5
oneounceload

Quote:
A.H.Fox (good luck, on the $200)
Ithaca
Iver Johnson
L.C.Smith
Lefever Nitro Special (Ithaca)
Noble
Parker Brothers ($200, yeah, right)
Remington Arms
Sterlingworth (A.H.Fox)
Petah - methinks you're missing one or two zeros for those brands.

$200 SxS tend to have an issue or two with them
Old March 16, 2012, 05:33 PM   #6
9mm

Quote: