The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old February 19, 2012, 11:42 PM   #1
j357

45ACP work up observation and question

Had some fun working up 45ACP loads for my SW 1911 this weekend. I loaded up some Hornady 200 grn LSWC and LCT (12208 and 12108) rounds over 4.6 g and 5.0 g of Titegroup another set over 5.6 g and 6.0 g of Clays Universal. As a note, the gun was great, one failure to chamber near the end after about 90 rounds, which has been typical for the gun as I just started shooting it - 300 rounds total.

The lighter rounds were great and shot to point of aim. The heavier charges were noticeable but still good. A quick case inspection revealed no problems but an interesting observation. The heavier charges appeared to result in slightly cleaner spent cases. The 5 g of TG appeared to be the cleanest of the bunch. I am wondering if there is anything to this observation that would make me want to load the heavier charge and stick with the TG.

Any experience or insight on this would be appreciated. I plan to start loading about 200 rounds tomorrow, but I am torn as to which recipe to use.
Old February 20, 2012, 12:48 AM   #2
ScottRiqui

I've noticed that slightly hotter loads seem to burn more cleanly, in a variety of powders. But unless the residue is hard to remove (which is hasn't been so far), I just try to optimize the load for functionality/accuracy and don't worry if it's dirty.
Old February 20, 2012, 03:10 AM   #3
drumnhands

I've been loading for my S&W 1911 for a few months now, probably put 1,000 or so of my own through it. I tried Clay's, but found better results with Unique. I'm loading 6.2 grains of Unique behind Rainier 230 grain plated RN bullets and they are very accurate. The bullet is seated to 1.260 and I have no feed issues. Interesting enough, the same charge shoots great in my M&P 40 pushing a 180 gn semi wadcutter plated bullet.