The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 1, 2008, 05:59 PM   #1
mudlark

New guy with the usual rookie type question

Long time listener, first time caller.

I would like to thank everyone that has provided me with a wealth of information previous to my registration here.

I've been loading for clay sports for just about three decades now and have a good grasp on all elements of the reloading process but never really got into the metallic end of it. My only child will be leaving the nest in about six months and me and my significant other would like to spend more time shooting. I have an old S&W .357mag that I would like to handload for, but my gal friend has a bit of a problem with recoil.

While I would like to load a .357 "load" for this revolver, I would also like to load a nice light .38 special "load" for her.

Now I've done a lot of searching on the issue, and the responses seem to be 50/50. I've read about "gas cutting" of the cylinders, I've read about trouble even loading the .357 after shooting .38's because of leading buildup.

So...assuming I am the person that knows how to keep a firearm clean after a day of heavy use, is there a real problem with shooting a lot of .38's and .357's from the same revolver?

PS: in my old age I'm starting to like the idea of a little less recoil also.

Thanks
Old April 1, 2008, 06:23 PM   #2
rwilson452

If you keep it clean there should be no issues. OTOH if you use a bulky powder such as trailboss you can get light loads out of a .357 case. When using real light loads, a real tight crimp is in order to get a good burn. otherwise it's going to get real dirty. Smokeless powers need heet and pressure to burn well.
Old April 1, 2008, 09:05 PM   #3
saber9