The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Old July 21, 2016, 10:08 PM   #1
deerslayer303

Nitre Bluing a Revolver?

I'm wanting to Nitre blue a highly worn S&W Model 10. Will the high temperature of the salts affect the hardening of the cylinder and barrel on a revolver? I think the salts melt at 600 degrees. The parts will soak for 30 minutes maybe longer depending on the time taken to achieve a color I want.

Last edited by deerslayer303; July 21, 2016 at 11:10 PM.
Old July 22, 2016, 11:34 PM   #2
TINCANBANDIT

You have a tank big enough for that?

I'm not an expert on how modern gun steels are hardened/tempered.

Although I would not advise it, I have to admit it sound like an interesting project.

If you do attempt it, please post pictures of the results

See my blog: http://tincanbandit.blogspot.com/
Old July 22, 2016, 11:54 PM   #3
deerslayer303

Oh yeah, I have a stainless steel trough that would work nicely on my outdoor propane burner that I use for processing lead. From my reading I've found some say it won't harm the strength of parts that are susceptible to pressure amd some say it will.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk
Old July 23, 2016, 05:43 AM   #4
Dixie Gunsmithing
Moderator Emeritus