The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old April 3, 2002, 10:22 PM   #1
snoman45

Might be going on my first Caribou hunt, What rifle to use???

I am looking into going on my first caribou hunt in the fall of 2003. I am not sure what to expect as far as range, altitude, and the size of the beast. It will be up by the Arctic circle, I was looking at the Rem. titanium mountian rifle in .338 saum, or is this an overkill? Has anyone used a Shepard Scope??
Old April 4, 2002, 01:06 AM   #2
Tol

A few bulleted items:

1-I have no experience caribou hunting

2-I know next to nothing about caribou hunting

3-I'd like to caribou hunt so badly I can taste it

4-I think you are a mighty lucky man

I would like to offer to join you on your hunt. I have a strong back and speck good english.

Obviously you'd be a fool not to take me up on that!

Good luck!

------

I've seen the Shepard Scopes and the gunsmith I use swears by them. He's a dealer for them so feel free to drop a note if you want to call him to compare prices. I haven't used one and am not too sure what I think.
----
Is there any possiblity that I could win an award for this post as being the least useful response ever given?
Old April 4, 2002, 05:54 AM   #3
Al Thompson
Staff Alumnus

I went in 2000. The .338 is never a bad choice, but anything from the 6.5 Swede and up is fine. The herd we were waiting on was not wary - ranges could be very short. Generally the comfort zone on the animals was a standing human at about 40 yards. If you got closer, they moved enough to acheive that 40 yard space...

There were black bear in the area - I had a tag but never connected.

I would use premium bullets. The combination of close range to long range and bear leads me to think that a good tough bullet would be ideal.

Waterproof boots are essential, at least mid-calf height.

Giz
Old April 7, 2002, 12:05 AM   #4
H&H,hunter

Snowman45,