The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 14, 2002, 05:14 PM   #1
Ed Dixon

$10 per bullet!

Just got an order in from National Bullets that was about a hundred bucks. Went through some old receipts going back to when I got my RCBS Master Kit a few months ago. At this point I've spent several hundred more on components, books, videos, and accessories and figure with the few boxes I've actually reloaded, I'm at about 10 bucks a bullet. This should begin to improve as I've got all I can handle now and am actually starting to feel like I can handle it (some). Thanks for the help so far. Figure I'll be in the black by Friday (2012).
Old September 14, 2002, 05:37 PM   #2
griz

It gets better pretty quick. By 2012 you'll be looking for new reloading stuff to buy.
Old September 14, 2002, 06:19 PM   #3
dakotasin

if you shoot w/ any frequency at all, you will quickly recoup your initial investment. of course, that is not putting a price on the intangibles: improved accuracy, increased velocity, and the biggest - the satisfaction of knowing you put that whoop-a** load together yourself.
Old September 19, 2002, 08:33 AM   #4
Desert Pete

Ed, I assume you mean $10 per cartridge. Never call a cartridge a bullet.
Old September 19, 2002, 09:27 AM   #5
k5blazer

The feeling I get knowing I reloaded my own outweighs the other costs. Besides I consider the cost for equipment and accessories a sunk cost. I don't apply them when figuring out the cost of 50 rounds. Helps with justifying my hobby (habit) to the wife who is a banker.
Old September 19, 2002, 01:23 PM   #6
Thumper

Hey pete, between sizing dies, molds, melters, dippers, lube and flux, ther've been times when I was WAY over 10 bucks a bullet, not cartridge. It all evens out. Eventually.
Old September 19, 2002, 09:50 PM   #7
Ed Dixon