The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting > Bullet Casting

Old November 6, 2009, 11:32 AM   #1
shuppr

Lubing Cast bullets

I am fairly new to reloading have been buying bullets at various places however have only reloaded one caliber so far that is 30 Carbine 110grn jacketed bullet using H110 14 grains works very well. Also Lead 115 grain using H110 at 12grns again works well. I am in the beginning stages of casting my own bullets but do not have a sizer/lubricater the molds I have are

Lee 2-Cavity Bullet Mold 358-158-RF 38 Special, 357 Magnum, 38 Colt New Police (358 Diameter) 158 Grain Flat Nose

Lee 2-Cavity Bullet Mold 401-175-TC 40 S&W (401 Diameter) 175 Grain Truncated Cone
I have searched all the forums read the Lee manual read Lyman 49th edition So my question is Can I pan lube these bullets made from these Molds and if so what lube would be recommended.

Thanks
Old November 6, 2009, 12:33 PM   #2
Unclenick
Staff

Welcome to the forum.

Yes. There's another shortcut, and that's the Lee Liquid Alox lube. It is made for their tumble lube design and coats the bullets rather than filling the lube grooves. Even though that is meant to work only with the numerous small grooves of their Tumble Lube designs, everyone reports that it works well on standard shapes. At least, it does if they aren't driven too hard. White Label Xlox is the same thing. Less expensive, but you have to purchase a larger quantity.

For sizing, the Lee press-mounted sizers work fine and are inexpensive. Lube first, run through one of those, then put a second coat on. If the bullet size as-cast fits in your gun OK, then you may find you do better, from an accuracy standpoint, not to size them at all.
NRA Benefactor Member and Golden Eagle
Old November 6, 2009, 01:59 PM   #3
shuppr