The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 2, 2013, 11:23 AM   #1
grickards

Powder Charge Doesn't Fit in Brass

I am new to reloading .308 Winchester, and have run into a bit of a snag. I weighed out a 40.0 gn powder charge of IMR-4064 using a Hornady electronic dispenser and loaded it into the casing. The 40.0gn charge, according to the references I have (Hornady and Lyman) is toward the low end of the safe range. The forums talk about a 44.0 gn load being a good amount for .308, but the 40.0 gn load is already up into the case neck. I tried tapping the casing to settle the powder with no success. All five casings that I loaded to 40.0 gn filled to the same level, and would be compression loads if I seated the bullets. 44 gn of powder would definitely overfill the casings. Yes, the scale calibrated fine. I dumped the powder back in the hopper, recalibrated and repeated the weigh and charge procedure for the five casings. All of the charges filled the casings to the same level, so at least it was consistent. I dumped the powder again and checked the casings to make certain they were empty. They were. I repeated the process with a bottom end charge of Varget and got substantially the same results. Where is it going wrong?
Old April 2, 2013, 11:40 AM   #2
david_r

Someone is going to come along and ask you the headstamp on your brass.

Weigh a resized case. Fill it with water and weigh it again. The difference in grams should give you the approximate CC volume.

edit to add: How did you verify the electronic dispenser?
Old April 2, 2013, 11:57 AM   #3
TheBear

I had this problem quiet often. Last time i used some .223rem load data from Lapua, 25.9gr of n135 with a 55gr bullet. I cant put more than 25.2gr into the case though...
There was another time when i tried a load from the lyman reloading manual for 7,62x39 using h335 and the case wasnt big enough for the max. charge too.