The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old November 29, 2008, 12:11 PM   #1
lookylou

Ruger Vaquero Montado

Ordered one of these from my local dealer yesterday. Any suggestions on loads, leather etc for this .45 colt six shooter?
I will be plinking with it.
Old November 29, 2008, 01:36 PM   #2
Hafoc

I'm not an expert on this particular model, but I do know it's a special version of the New Model Vaquero. It should be fine with any of your factory "standard" .45 Colt ammo, or any of the somewhat less powerful "cowboy" loads.

Do not use any of the high power, high pressure loads sometimes labeled as "Ruger only" or "Ruger or Thompson-Center Contender only." These are supposedly safe in the Ruger Blackhawk, which has a larger, heavier frame and thicker cylinder than the New Vaquero. Or in the old-model, original Vaquero, which had a Blackhawk frame. But the New Vaquero is built on a frame the size of a Colt Peacemaker's, lighter and more trim than the Blackhawk's.

(Personally, I never liked those high-powered .45 loads. The .45 Colt is a mean, MEAN old thumper in its own right, and I always felt that if you wanted a .44 Magnum there was nothing wrong with getting one of those in the first place. But a lot of people disagree with me, and that's fine. No hard feelings.)

In my .45s I've used the green-box Remington standard loadings without any trouble.

For you, to see how the thing works, might I suggest you try some of the commercial cowboy loads first? I had good luck with the Winchesters and with Magtech, whoever they are.