The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old March 14, 2007, 12:44 AM   #1
Blacktail_Slayer

Coyote bullets.

I am getting a 223 for coyote and am wondering what have been your experiences with different bullets, best preformance, I am most interested in saving the pelt, so bullets that only have an entrence hole. Also, if you have had the chance to shoot one, how have these bullets preformed on smaller predators, mostly bobcats?
Old March 14, 2007, 01:44 AM   #2
dmbassking

I have a lot of experience with Hornaday Vmax bullets and can assure you that they devastate foxes and coyotes. I have heard that Sierra blitzking bullets are good too, but i don't have any personal experience with those. If you are looking to save the skins then i would recommend Sierra matchkings.
Old March 14, 2007, 03:51 PM   #3
indybrad

Yea, I shot a coyote with the Hornady 223 Vmax at 100 yrds and the exit was big. I hit it in the hip though. blew the whole other side of her hip out. You could use FMJs, but you run the risk of not finding the animal because the bullet will go through withought expanding much.
Old March 14, 2007, 04:24 PM   #4
Scorch

I shot a lot of coyotes for pelts, and I found out it's better to have a good hard bullet rather than an explosive varminting bullet. Try some 55 gr FMJBT.
Old March 14, 2007, 05:11 PM   #5
taylorce1

I've used Sierra 55 grain soft points and hollow points without explosive exits. I try to shoot the coyote head on just below the neck every coyote I've shot this way with the .223 has never left an exit wound. I've had good luck as well well with the Sierra 63 grain soft points and saving the fur. My advice use the heaviest bullet that your rifle will stabilize and shoot well.

http://www.sierrabullets.com/index.c...ts&caliberID=3
Old March 14, 2007, 05:11 PM   #6
williamd