The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 12, 2005, 04:28 AM   #1
mako8551

30-06 Hornady help!!!!!!

I have what appears to be a very finicky remmington 700 sps which is only about 2 months old. It shoots 3 MOA with absolutely everything(all high end stuff) and .5 MOA with Hornaday Light mag 150g SST. I'm just getting into reloading and I figure a good starting point is to try and duplicate this load.

The Problem.

All, the factory fired cases showed a finger of sooty deposit on the case neck except the hornady. I heard this is a sign of the pressure not being enough to expand the case neck to seal he chamber.

When I looked up the ballistic data the hornday pushes a 150g bullet at 3100-3200 fps. Far faster than all the others. So I figure this is the extra power that seals the case neck to my funky chamber dimensions.

The question.

What powder and load is Hornady using and I cant seem to find printed safe data for loading a 30-06 150g past 3000 fps.

.30-06 Sprg., 150 gr. SST 8519
Velocity (fps) / Energy (ft-lbs)
Muzzle 100 yd 200 yd 300 yd 400 yd 500 yd
3100/3200 2867/2736 2645/2330 2434/1973 2233/1660 2041/1387

Trajectory (inches)
Muzzle 100 yd 200 yd 300 yd 400 yd 500 yd
-1.50 1.40 0.00 -6.40 -18.60 -37.80
Old November 12, 2005, 04:48 AM   #2
mtnboomer