The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old December 21, 2014, 11:59 PM   #1
jaytothekizzay

Defensive ammo

Hey guys, Im just tryin to get some other opinions on cycling Defensive ammo. Ive had 2 mags loaded to capacity with Speer gold dot HP. For use in my carry gun. Ive been carrying with these rounds for about 5 years now, and im planning on shooting them out and replacing them soon. I seem to cycle my defendive rounds about every 4-5 years... what do you guys think about that??? Good idea? Or not necessary?
Old December 22, 2014, 12:43 AM   #2
Koda94

Good idea if the bullet is pushed in from all the loading over the years....
Old December 22, 2014, 06:51 AM   #3
Mobuck

After 5 years, I'd say shooting the ammo is a good idea. Even though the bullets may not be damaged, there have been instances of primer failures related to continual chambering/ejecting live ammo off the top of the mag. In addition, if you live in a climate where temps get cold and your gun/ammo goes through hot/cold cycles, there's a chance of powder degradation due to moisture condensation within the case.
Due to my specific circumstances, I seldom unload/reload my carry pistol plus the way I carry pretty well keeps the pistol from going through heat/cold cycles. I only change ammo 1-2 times per year and (at this point) have not had a problem with bullets being pushed into the case, primer failure, or powder degradation.
Old December 22, 2014, 07:25 AM   #4
full case load

Every time I go to the range I'll run my carry ammo first. Then go with practice ammo. Top off with carry ammo before leaving. Revolvers same as the pistols. Don't know if that's necessary, but that's how I do it.
Old December 22, 2014, 07:33 AM   #5
Qtiphky

More often