The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 16, 2007, 08:16 PM   #1
AKGunner

Own a 650/Want a single stage press

Currently I own a Dillon 650 that I use for 45acp, 9mm, and 38 special. I currently have calipers, digital scale, etc. I usually load up 500-1000 rounds before switching over to a new caliber.

I just purchased a Smith and Wesson 500 and want to reload for it. I might even reload for my 300 win mag.

I'm thinking of getting a single stage press that I can leave set up next to my Dillon might be just the ticket to load these two calibers. High speed and lots of rounds are not a consideration.

Any suggestions on a good single stage press? Also, what other gear would I need that I might not already have?
Old September 16, 2007, 08:52 PM   #2
Jim Watson

I have been loading my rifle ammo on a Rockchucker since 1971.
There are others but that one works.

I would get a good bench powder measure so as to not have to weigh every load.
Old September 16, 2007, 09:18 PM   #3
kansas45

+1 on the Rockcrusher. I have one set up next to my 2 Dillon 550's. I use it for my revolver target loads & for reloding rounds for the hunting rifles.
Old September 16, 2007, 09:41 PM   #4
BigJakeJ1s

Forster Co-ax. Very accurate, very easy to change dies, etc. Automatic shell holder jaws work great. Captures ever spent primer. Best designed, best built single stage press out there. I sure like mine!

If you want to reload REALLY long cartrdges, or have any ideas of reloading 50 bmg, etc., the Redding UltraMag is a better choice, but 2nd overall.

Andy
Old September 16, 2007, 10:37 PM   #5
Hunter0924

I am a Hornady man myself. Right now Hornady has a great bullet promotion on new presses.
I have been loading on one about 10 years not and my father about twice that long.
Old September 16, 2007, 10:41 PM   #6
DonR101395