The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old December 5, 2006, 02:05 PM   #1
Mr.Magoo

Need help for a 45 Colt load ...

I'm a relative beginner in reloading (meaning I've found a couple of loads I like for my 45 ACP and my 45 Colt and stick to them.)

I'm trying to work-up a load for my 45 Colt that I'm hoping someone can help with. The bullet is a 270 gr. Keith, the gun is a Blackhawk 4 5/8". I'd like to have a load running about 950 - 1000 fps.

I'm currently loading Bullseye in the 45 auto and H110 in the Colt. I was thinking I could use the H110 for this new load in the Colt, but have recently read that "reduced" loads shouldn't be done with H110. Any recommendations on the best powder to use for this load would be appreciated. Thanks again.
Old December 5, 2006, 02:33 PM   #2
Ben Shepherd

Blue dot or 2400 should work well for that application.

NRA certified rifle, pistol and shotgun instructor.
Hunter education instructor
Old December 6, 2006, 10:01 AM   #3
Ben Shepherd

No other takers? Sorry wer're not much help around here I guess.
As for the 2 I reccomended:

2400 will be just a touch sooty, but the soot will just wipe off. 2400 and cast slugs in big bore handguns is "the" classic combination.

Blue dot should burn pretty clean.

Of the 2, 2400 usually meters easier in a powder measure. But blue dot is more economical.

Contact our member WESHOOT2 for some very good specific advice. Hangun ammo is what he does for a living. He may have suggestions on powders I've never tried, and therefore can't give advice on.

NRA certified rifle, pistol and shotgun instructor.
Hunter education instructor
Old December 6, 2006, 10:55 AM   #4
Mr.Magoo