The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old May 13, 2002, 03:15 PM   #1
goodcatjack

what punching bag do you prefer?

a general equipment question ...

I used to have one of those "nevatear" everlast bags (it did tear) and before that, one of those old angelo dundee canvas bags; I've also tried one of the earlier Wave water filled bags (it leaked).

now I have one of those century B.O.B. torso punching mannequins that I got on a whim, but while I like it fine for some things, I always feel kinda nervous about breaking the base, what with all the rocking back and forth it does. my background is in tkd and kickboxing and boxing, generally, so I'm kinda strike oriented. I do try to be a bit more well rounded than that, but this is primarily a bag question. so:

what do you guys use for what sort of workouts and how do you like them?
Old May 13, 2002, 04:09 PM   #2
stinger

my older brother always found that i made a good punching bag as a kid
Old May 13, 2002, 06:23 PM   #3
ACP230

I have been using a canvas TKO for about the past two years. It has held up well to boxing and some work with a stick. I find that after 20 minutes or so of boxing, a few minutes with the stick bumps the heart rate pretty well.
Old May 13, 2002, 07:16 PM   #4
Hemicuda

I prefer to use my third degree blackbelt cousin...

I have never had a minute of formal training in hand to hand combat, and yet, he RARELY lands a punch, and NEVER gets in a "stunner"...

when we spar, he'll last 4 or 5 minutes, and then he is sore, and will be black and blue...

I once took on his 5th degree Grand Master... he made a few count, but I put him on the mat too, in the end...

Blackbelts make the BEST punchingbags!

gun and car collector.
Rare cars, and rarer guns.
Old May 13, 2002, 08:02 PM   #5
boris_01