The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 12, 2013, 09:13 PM   #1
ViktorC

Lee sizing die leaves scratches on 9 mm brass, how safe ?

Hi everyone,
I could use some help, being not totally new to reloading I'm still new to reloading handgun ammunition. I got myself new Beretta in 9 mm Luger and successfully loaded few dozen rounds.
4.2 grain of Bullseye behind 115 grain berry's plated bullet with OAL 1.142 inch (2.900 mm) They cycle the action just fine and no signs of over pressure. However my sizing die leaves horizontal scratches just like loaded round isn't coming straight into the die. Looking inside the die up side down I can't see any sharp edges...plus, it's not doing this with every case...
aesthetically, I couldn't case less but would like to know if these are safe to shoot (cases are not scratched bad, and by no means dented, looks like surface marks)...I'm aware it might be hard to tell without the photos which I don't have at this point...but, maybe some of you had similar experience...
Thank you all...
Old March 12, 2013, 09:50 PM   #2
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

It's not going to hurt anything.

You can try cleaning it with regular gun cleaning supplies and if you really want to go crazy, get yourself some Flitz polish at an auto parts store, put some on a bore mop that fits snugly in the die and run it in a cordless drill for a few seconds. It'll smooth as a babies...

In any case, it won't hurt anything the way it is.
Old March 13, 2013, 04:39 AM   #3
Mike / Tx

Similar to what Brian mentions, on occasion I take an older bronze bore brush and wrap a patch around it then run it through my sizers with a touch of Hoppe's on it to clean out the residual brass. I just chuck them up in my cordless screwdriver and give it a few spins then swap out the wet patch for a dry one.