The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old January 15, 1999, 11:08 PM   #1
Brandon

Ok, I bet this has been covered before, but I am new to this. If I have a post ban AR and I have it registered as a SBR, does it then not fall under the so called Crime Bill of 94? This would, of course, be more expensive and not worth it but I think it is a good question.

Thanks,
Brandon
Old January 15, 1999, 11:46 PM   #2
Daren Thompson

Brandon in the past I asked the same question. I called i Post with Pre features, I forget with forum probably legal. But any way Rob answered me and said he was in the process of doing just exactly what U and me are only thinking about. Now I have one more ? for Rob, have U checked this with the ATF? Doesn't section 922v still apply? U are still assebling a rifle with 2 many evil features. I read a blip about were U used to be able to do this with imported rifles to get around the 89 ban but then that door was closed. it did not say why.
Later
Daren
Old January 16, 1999, 03:14 PM   #3
Brandon

OK I have done some checking. It "appears" that if you register a rifle as a SBR, it is now governed under laws covering NFA weapons exclusivly. Thus, with a $5 registration fee and a long wait on the ATF, you can do anything you want with this weapon SHORT of making it a MG. The only questions that remain for me are (1) Can you do this with a Post Ban receiver/rifle? (2) Does it require the assistance of a class III dealer? (I would rather register a receiver and then by a short bbl compleation kit)
Anybody want to shead light onto this? The laws and regs read like stereo insatructions.

Thanks
Brandon
Old January 16, 1999, 07:12 PM   #4
danbrew

A SBR is still considered a "firearm" and thus falls under 922. You cannot have multiple evil features on a post ban gun, even if you make it a SBR. I'm positive of this.