The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 27, 2012, 08:45 PM   #1
tobnpr

Reloading for the 7.62 x 25 and 9x 18 Mak

The indoor range nearby where we shoot our handguns doesn't allow ferrous bullets because of their bullet traps...

We normally shoot surplus from these two pistols (a Yugo M57 and a CZ-82) when at the rifle range, but because our long range shooting takes up the whole day now, we need to add another day or two a month for the indoor range just to shoot our pistols, and I want to start reloading for these.

I can get 9x18 brass ammo "reasonable" at $15/box, but I can save a few bucks by loading, I suppose. I haven't bothered reloading for our 9x19's, because I can't make "range-plinking" ammo for any less than I can buy it...so although I've a lot of experience reloading all our rifle calibers (Hornady LNL), never reloaded for any of our handguns, since we're not after precision results with them.

I've got a ton of 9x19 brass, and a case trimmer, so trimming to 9x18 is no issue. I know there's a small difference in bullet size, but this is not supposed to be an issue (?).

I've read that making 7.62 x 25 brass from .223 ammo can be problematic, and the brass itself is short-lived because of excessive expansion fireforming.

Should I just buy the Starline brass for this?

Any bullet/load data for range plinking ammo is appreciated, as well as a good self-defense load for the 9x18 as my 82 is my EDC.
Old January 27, 2012, 11:19 PM   #2
CWKahrFan

Quote:
I've read that making 7.62 x 25 brass from .223 ammo can be problematic, and the brass itself is short-lived because of excessive expansion fireforming.