The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old October 13, 2009, 01:05 PM   #1
ragwd

Rifle cartridge reloading?

Ok with the help of alot of reading here and several load books, I have been reloading 45 acp, 9mm, 380 pistol cartridges for about 9 months. Quality control are the key words on my bench. but rifle cartridges are quite different so I am back with more questions. I have a rcbs rock chucker supreme, rcbs competition full length two die set, once fired Winchester and lake city cartridges, hodgdon h335 powder, magtec small rifle primers, 55 grs fmj bullets. Things I am missing case trimmer, primer pocket prep tools, flash hole tool, and a chamber gauge and some guidance on this “full length sizing” thing and this idea of gauges. When reloading my pistol cartridges I have a pistol barrel and I check to make sure it sits right and is the right height, but this rifle thing gets a bit cloudy to me, how deep the bullet sits and the relationship of that and where the rifling starts and how exactly to check that. So I am asking, am I missing anything else, which and where should I get what I am missing and maybe some clarity in fl sizing and gauges. Thanks ahead of time and for reading my lengthy thread.
Old October 13, 2009, 02:32 PM   #2
crimsondave

I am assuming you are reloading .223 ammo from brand of brass and bullet size, correct? Are you loading for a bolt action or AR-15 (or some other auto loader?)
Old October 13, 2009, 02:54 PM   #3
Dr. Strangelove

Sounds like you're loading for an AR in .223?

Don't worry about flash hole tools and primer pocket cleaners. Read your press and die instructions for proper setup for full length sizing, but most screw in resizing die until it contacts shellholder at full stroke with tiny bit of cam over. Do check your instructions.