The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old January 11, 2010, 08:03 PM   #1
RottShot

Shotgun Wear/Maintenance Question

I'm new to shotguns (and this forum), and am not sure if what I have is a problem or normal wear. I recently purchased a remington 870 express and after puting maybe 30 shells through it (plus likely the same amount of non-firing slide action), I have developed a nice scratch just under the slide on the very bottom of the mag tube.

I have noticed from pictures and some older used shotguns that slide wear in this area is normal, but I didn't expect to see this level of wear so soon. The single scratch has just about made it's way through the black coating. If it's a problem, I want to address it while it's new.

Also, are their any particular maintenance steps I should take to protect this area? I don't care about keeping it pretty, just protected.
Old January 11, 2010, 08:23 PM   #2
xm21

It is normal,ones will also develop at 12,3,and 9 o'clock on the magazine tube.
Old January 11, 2010, 09:05 PM   #3
StuntManMike

Just keep it well oiled. I like Eezox for this.

Also, the finish on an 870 Express is its worst feature so you could always send it off for something like NP3.
Old January 11, 2010, 10:39 PM   #4
RottShot

Thanks for the quick replies. Good to know not to be surprised by more. I'll keep it well oiled and pick up some eezox.
Old January 11, 2010, 11:25 PM   #5
the rifleer

yep, that finish sure looks nice doesn't it? take some pictures because its not going to be there for long.its normal. even if you get it all lubed up (it only takes a few drops to lube the whole shotgun) its still going to have the finish wear off. out side it will look great, but anytime you have metal rubbing against metal, its going to wear a little.