The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old June 19, 2016, 03:28 PM   #1
Rhys16

Next purchase advice: AR:15 or .308 bolt action?

I'm a gun newbie, and I'm slowly trying to built my collection of essentials in case -CENSORED--CENSORED--CENSORED--CENSORED- hits the fan in the near future. So far, I only have a Glock 26, Mossberg 500 shotgun, S&W .357 mag, Ruger SP101 in my truck and a Taurus 85 UltraLite for my wife's truck. My question is this:

If you had to pick just one for your next major gun purchase, would it be an AR-15 or a bolt action rifle? I'm left-handed, so I'm looking at the Stag AR's as well as the Ruger Gunsite Scout in .308. Both are priced about the same at $750-$800. I understand it's an "apples to oranges" comparison, but I'm looking to spread the budget and chose which one is the best first purchase. Thanks guys, I appreciate the help.
Old June 19, 2016, 05:46 PM   #2
dgludwig

I'd hate to be without a semi-auto rifle (be it an AR-15 or a Mini-14 or one of its ilk) but I'd hate even more not having a good, bolt-action rifle. I'd get the Ruger chambered in .308 and never look back-that is, until I had the scratch to get a semi-auto rifle, preferably chambered in .223/5.56.
Old June 19, 2016, 06:01 PM   #3
Mobuck

W/o a defined purpose, not much chance of finding a satisfactory response.
I have both semi-auto (.223)and bolt action(.308) since I feel more secure being able to shoot farther than the average semi-auto. Having this capability isn't worth much if you don't have the skill to utilize it. Just owning a hammer doesn't make you a carpenter.
Old June 19, 2016, 06:05 PM   #4
Rockrivr1

With the current political leaning and rumored new gun laws I'd get yourself an AR now before the panic buying gets into full swing and prices get ridiculous again.

Getting a 308 bolt should not be a problem down the road.
Old June 20, 2016, 06:05 AM   #5
Rancid

Simple answer...get both!