The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 2, 2007, 12:22 AM   #1
G&G

Questions for CrustyFN

Seems as if I have the same equipment as you do.
Lee Classic Turret Press
CZ 75BD (Mine is not the Police model)
My rounds don't always chamber all the way. Seems as if the round gets wedged in the chamber. I've got to drop the mag and rack the slide. All factory loads with 115 round point fire without a problem. My reloads are being temper mental. I had to stop IDPA tonight and just shoot out my rounds on the range, trying to figure out the problem
Powder is TITEGROUP with Auto Disc at .34
Bullet is Ranier Ballistics 124 FP
Primer is CCI
When it comes to reloading, I'm a rookie.
Could you give me some tips as to how to get this glitch smoothed out?
Thanks
G&G
Old May 2, 2007, 06:02 AM   #2
CrustyFN

What is your OAL on the 124 FP? The 124 FP's I used were wider farther out than a RN. I had to take one and keep seating it until it would chamber, then I re-seated the rest and the problem was gone. Take the barrel out of your gun and seat the bullet a little at a time until it drops all the way into the barrel on it's own. Tip the barrel up and it should fall back out on it's own. Thats where you want it to be. I think I ended up with a OAL of 1.030. I will check when I get home and let you know. I cut back to 4 grains of Titegroup on those. I think that was .32 on the pro auto, check it on your scale.
Rusty
Old May 2, 2007, 05:24 PM   #3
layusn1

Thread hijack but sorta related warning.

Wow, that must be one seriously thick bullet with very little taper. I have never loaded those but was surprised at the OAL difference. I seat x-treme 124gr plated RN bullets at 1.140 for my CZ75. I never did get a load going for the Horandy XTPs. I couldn't get the to fit near the recommended OAL. I really wanted to give those a try.