The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 9, 2010, 10:19 AM   #1

I don't know if I trust the guy!

Before I get to my question I will give you a bit of background information. My partner and I have been reloading for a few years now and by all means do not consider ourselves to be experts. My buddy is not a TFL member so I told him I would get some feedback from the forum members.

Here's the situation. My buddy's wife does in home massages and one of her clients noticed our range and started asking some questions. She then put my bud in touch with him and he sent down six 357 loads for my pal to try. The guy talks a very good game. "I do everything to one ten thousandth of an inch. I turn all my case necks. I use a concentricity gauge......blah blah blah."

So, here are the problems I have. First, the loads he sent are above max load for any published source we can find (he was using 9 grains of 800x under a Hornady 158 gr bullet....don't remember the primer but, I think it was a magnum). We could only find a max published load using 8.7 grs. His COAL varied as much as .010 (so much for everything at .0001) and no two had the same COAL. When he came down to shoot with us, he couldn't hit a bull in the butt at ten paces with his 357 mag. I told my buddy if it were me I would respectfully hand him back his reloads and let him know that I only shoot my own flavors out of my gun.

Does this guy should like a BS artist? what would you do? The guy seems to be a nice fellow....I'm just not sure I trust him yet.

Deer are amazing creatures....so please don't burn the sauteed onions and I'll pass on the steak sauce, thank you.

Last edited by .284; April 9, 2010 at 11:03 AM.
Old April 9, 2010, 10:22 AM   #2
Lavid2002

I rarely let people shoot my reloads out of their guns in case something happens. I wouldnt shoot others reloads...
Old April 9, 2010, 10:30 AM   #3
oneoldsap