The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Old September 5, 2011, 01:29 PM   #1
Hitthespot

Breathalyzer test required for Homecoming Dance

My 17 year old son and I was talking last night and he said that everyone entering the high school for the homecoming dance was required to take a Breathalyer test. Well I laughed and said, "we'll get you high school kids straightened out yet." Obviously I thought he was kidding. Soon into our conversation I realized he was telling the truth, they really did have to take a breath test to enter the highschool dance.

Now I'm no lawyer or law expert by any means but this sounds like a civil rights violation to me. What next, urine sample for drugs? Blood Test for the Aids virus or hepititis?

I would love to hear your guys take on this?
Old September 5, 2011, 01:50 PM   #2
KyJim

Since it is a school function involving students, there is a much diminished right of privacy than in other places involving other people. Frankly, as a parent of two fairly recent HS grads, I would be in favor of testing. Now, when you start getting into drug screens for participation in athletics and other school activities, that crosses a personal line I have (yes, I have read of some schools doing this and it being upheld).
Old September 5, 2011, 04:05 PM   #3
pnac

It could be worse. Check out the link below.

http://www.kob.com/article/stories/S2122102.shtml

Alcohol searches have been going on for a while:

http://www.saratogian.com/articles/2...4048848902.txt
Oh Lord grant me speed - Gram Parsons
Old September 5, 2011, 05:08 PM   #4
JerryM

I think it is an excellent idea.
Jerry
Ecclesiastes 12:13  ¶Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.
14  For God shall bring every work into judgment, with every secret thing, whether it be good, or whether it be evil.
Old September 5, 2011, 05:17 PM   #5
Chris_B