The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old June 4, 2007, 02:53 PM   #1
m1rrg

whats the deal with primers...

$100 for a case of 5000? Seems to me only 6 months ago they ran about $65 a case/gunshow price. So why the big jump in prices?
Old June 5, 2007, 06:06 PM   #2
Cpl Nobbs

war, demand, fuel costs, material costs, profit takeing.
Old June 5, 2007, 06:15 PM   #3
ShootingNut

Good price

I don't see any big jump, comparing prices around here. Always paid about
20-23 bucks for a brick (1,000) for standard pistol primers or magnums.
Old June 5, 2007, 09:28 PM   #4
Unforgiven826

If I hear one more person mention transportation or fuel cost as being a factor in ammo prices I am going to scream. I am an owner operator truck driver and as the cost of fuel has gone up all over this nation the freight rates have dropped. I am losing 200-300 bucks a week out of my pocket in increased fuel cost with no relief from the shippers.
Old June 5, 2007, 09:35 PM   #5
Sector001

The exact same reason brass and jacketed bullets have skyrocketed in price. The price of copper has soared.
Old June 5, 2007, 09:36 PM   #6
Gbro

Hey,
Just because they aren't ponying up for the increase doesn't mean they can't use the increase in your cost to there advantage, Its really the American way.
relax' think of your blood pressure.
Welcome to blue collar life.
Old June 6, 2007, 09:58 AM   #7
Cpl Nobbs

UPS/Fedex/DHL are all charging more. my soon to be brother in law is also a long haul and he has kept up with fuel costs. I spend a lot of time on the road for clients and I have also had to increase to keep up.

fuel costs are a factor. thats the reality.
Old June 6, 2007, 03:20 PM   #8
ob_1jr