The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 11, 2012, 10:08 AM   #1
Hoosier_Daddy

Recommendation on Chronograph

I am ready to splurge on a chronograph to see how my 9 mm , 45 ACP, and .308 reloads are working out. Primary use will be outdoors in daylight. Not needing anything for national match accuracy. Looking for an affordable unit with possible options for the future. My complete novice first choice is the Competition Electronics Pro Chrono Digital.
Looking for your recommendations for a first timer.
Thank you.
Old July 11, 2012, 10:50 AM   #2
tkglazie

$70 Chrony from walmart works great for me.
Old July 11, 2012, 11:08 AM   #3
nikdfish

I went the CE route myself with the ProChrono Digital. No complaints, it has a generous shooting area and has performed very well for me. The data transfer capability is handy for record keeping. Another plus is that Competition Electronics will repair/replace it, regardless of degree or cause of damage, for 1/2 the MSRP.

Nick
Old July 11, 2012, 11:08 AM   #4
rclark

I use the F1 Chrony . Nice and compact. Works great for me. After writing down in my notebook with a pencil (my state of the art record keeping device) the string of velocities, I'll take home and enter into a spreadsheet to to get ES and SD, Max, and Min... or anything else I might be interested in.... Then enter the results into my master load development spreadsheet for 'record keeping'.

And you are not 'splurging' . A chronograph is almost a necessity for load development!
A clinger and deplorable, MAGA, and life NRA member. When guns are outlawed, only outlaws will have guns. Single Action .45 Colt (Sometimes colloquially referred to by its alias as the .45 'Long' Colt or .45LC). Don't leave home without it. That said, the .44Spec is right up their too... but the .45 Colt is still the king.
Old July 11, 2012, 11:36 AM   #5
PawPaw