The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 4, 2014, 03:08 PM   #1
Cowboy9931

Rounds not entering battery

I'm pretty new to reloading rifle rounds so please bear with me. I am getting about 50% of completed rounds not loading fully. I'm not sure what the issue is.

I am following the Hornady reloading guide. I have trimmed and de-blurred all my brass to 2.005 after resizing. I am loading Berger 155g VLD target and seating to a C.O.A.L of 2.710 and that is under Hornady's 2.810.

Now I have also compared my rounds not fitting to the ones that do as well as to boxed Remington and Hornady rounds, and the specs are the same or slightly under.

What gives? I am at a loss.
Old May 4, 2014, 03:30 PM   #2
Bart B.

If a new case chambers easily as the bolt closes on it locking up full into battery, I think your fired cases are not being sized enough. You may need to screw the die down 1/16th of a turn.

What type of sizing die are you using? How did you set it in the press?

Last edited by Bart B.; May 4, 2014 at 03:39 PM.
Old May 4, 2014, 03:36 PM   #3
Cowboy9931

All cases have been once-fired. I am using a Hornady Lock-n-Load press with RCBS dies. I took diligent care to set the die up correctly. At least I think so.

Some rounds are free and easy the chamber, some are pretty stiff and the remainder just won't enter. Well, they enter the chamber fully but the bolt won't rotate to close.

Last edited by Cowboy9931; May 4, 2014 at 03:44 PM.
Old May 4, 2014, 03:45 PM   #4
Bart B.

There's probably enough spring in the press that the die needs to be about .002" to .003" lower. Loosen the die and it's lock ring then screw the die down into its lock ring so it's circumference moves about 3/16 inch around it. A 1/10 inch change moves the die about .002". Lock the ring on the die then reinstall it on the press and resize another fired case.