The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Curios and Relics

Old April 23, 2011, 10:45 AM   #1
MrWesson

Should I keep it

I got a deal on a Hungarian Mosin M44 for $75(go for 150+ around here) that I couldn't pass it up. I had a M38 that I liked but didn't have much opportunity to shoot it after I moved to south fl because only 1 local range is outdoors and 100yds(hate that range too). I am on a strict firearms budget(thanks honey ) so if I sell it would be to fund some small pistol primers(down to about 2000).

keep it
Obviously fun to shoot because of the huge fireballs/noise/cheap ammo. If I want to get into hunting(mostly boar hunters around here) I will have something to hunt with although i wouldnt dare shoot this without hearing protection.

sell it
It will get shot maybe once every couple months.
I started shooting USPSA and I might run really low on SPP for awhile.
I like the M44 but I liked the M38 much better(dont like the extra weight of the bayo).
My first "deal" that i could make a little cash on or keep and brag about how cheap it was..

Last edited by MrWesson; April 23, 2011 at 10:50 AM.
Old April 23, 2011, 11:20 AM   #2
emcon5

Keep it.

That is always the answer when it comes to a firearm.
Old April 23, 2011, 11:47 AM   #3
Cheapshooter

Rule No. one below!!!
VVVVVV
Cheapshooter's rules of gun ownership #1: NEVER SELL OR TRADE ANYTHING!
Old April 23, 2011, 11:53 AM   #4
Don P

Keep it. Purchased for a good price= good deal.
As you are, I once was, As I am, You will be.
Old April 23, 2011, 01:48 PM   #5
sonick808

they're right. NEVER SELL! An m44 is a STAPLE for a collection! DO NOT SELL! You gain 150 bucks. THen what. Then you wish you had it back, then m44's are 300 bucks. KEEP IT
Old April 30, 2011, 04:33 PM   #6
publius