The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 29, 2006, 05:06 PM   #1
ebueker

To Crimp or Not Crimp

I am relatively new to reloading. I have been using TSXs and Nosler Balistic Tips with no crimp. Someone told me he always crimps no matter the bullet style, even smooth bullets like BTs. Am I wrong not to crimp?
Old March 29, 2006, 06:16 PM   #2
Dave R

What kind of rifle and what cartridge? In general terms...

Crimping is seldom done with bolt-action rifles and single-shots. No need unless its a real kicker. And crimping seems to reduce accuracy.

Crimping is mandatory for tube-fed lever actions, to make sure you don't get bullet set-back from the pessure in the tube, and from recoil.
Old March 29, 2006, 06:54 PM   #3
ebueker

Rifle is 300 mag and 280 Rem. Remington M 700 and Ruger M77 Mk II
Old March 29, 2006, 08:09 PM   #4
kingudaroad

Every Nosler BT I've ever seen has no crimping cannelure,don't know about TSX, but you surely don't want to crimp into the jacket.

From my limited education there is no crimp needed in a bottle neck cartridge fired out of a bolt action rifle. Good, solid, tight, even,neck tension is all that's needed.

No crimp for me thank you
Old March 29, 2006, 11:13 PM   #5
steve4102

If you are going to crimp, use the Lee Factory Crimp Die. It will put a nice crimp on any bullet with or without a cannelure(groove). The Lee Factory Crimp Die can and does Increase accuracy not decrease it. Here is some interesting reading. http://www.accuratereloading.com/crimping.html

http://www.leeprecision.com/cgi/cata...ies-crimp.html

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpag...eitemid=586092
Old March 30, 2006, 12:15 AM   #6
kidcoltoutlaw

I think the crimp and accuracy is bull

In the bench rest game accuracy is all that matters and no one crimps,

Thanks,Keith
Old March 30, 2006, 12:26 AM   #7
Tim R

No crimps for service rifle/High Power as well.